Hercules & Love Affair Announce New Album ‘In Amber’, Release New Song ‘Grace’

    Hercules and Love Affair, the project led by producer Andy Butler, has announced its first new album since 2017’s Omnion. It’s called In Amber, and it will be released on June 17 (via Skint/BMG). The LP finds Butler reuniting with ANOHNI, who co-wrote and sang on five songs from Hercules & Love Affair’s self-titled 2008 debut. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Grace’, which features vocals from ANOHNI and Icelandic singer Elin Ey. Check it out via the Sam Ostyn-directed video below.

    “In dance music, the focus tends to be more on celebration, joy, desire, heartbreak,” Butler said in a statement. “But rage? Existential contemplation? Not so much… certain emotions seemed to be off limits. In some ways, In Amber is a record I didn’t know I had in me.”

    He added: “As an artist that has always puts my personal lived experience forward in my work, not to mention the chaos of living through these recent times, I could not in good conscience make something comfortable. I needed to express my discomfort. Making a ’90s sounding techno or house record, or an odd ’80s sounding dance track was not anything I needed to do.”

    In Amber Cover Artwork:

    In Amber Tracklist:

    1. Grace
    2. One
    3. You’ve Won This War
    4. Christian Prayers
    5. Dissociation
    6. Contempt for You
    7. Gates of Separation
    8. Killing His Family
    9. Who Will Save Us?
    10. The Eyes of the Father
    11. Poisonous Storytelling
    12. Repent

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading