Automatic Announce New Album ‘Excess’, Share Video for New Song ‘New Beginning’

    Automatic – the Los Angeles trio of vocalist Izzy Glaudin, drummer Lola Dompé, and bassist Halle Saxon-Gaines – have announced their sophomore album. Excess is slated for release on June 24 via Stones Throw. Lead single ‘New Beginning’ is out now alongside a video directed by Ambar Navarro and inspired the Swedish sci-fi movie Aniara. Watch and listen below.

    Excess captures the intersection between the ’70s underground and the corporate culture of the ’80s; “that fleeting moment when what was once cool quickly turned and became mainstream, all for the sake of consumerism,” according to the band. Glaudin added: “The record is about what happens to our psyches when we’re conditioned to certain values, the consequences of those values, and a desire to resist them.”

    Excess Cover Artwork:

    Excess Tracklist:

    1. New Beginning
    2. On the Edge
    3. Skyscraper
    4. Realms
    5. Venus Hour
    6. Automation
    7. Teen Beat
    8. NRG
    9. Lucy
    10. Turn Away

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading