Horsegirl Announce Debut Album, Share Video for New Single ‘Anti-Glory’

    Horsegirl – the Chicago trio of Penelope Lowenstein (guitar, vocals), Nora Cheng (guitar, vocals), and Gigi Reece (drums) – have announced their debut full-length. Versions of Modern Performance lands on June 3 via Matador. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the lead single ‘Anti-Glory’, which is accompanied by a video from director Erin Vassilopoulous. Check it out below and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist (which differs between physical and digital versions).

    “We wrote ‘Anti-glory’ almost by accident, while messing around with an old song during rehearsal. The song fell into place immediately, and looking back, we have no idea how we wrote it,” the band explained in a statement. “As always, this song and album are for Chicago, our friends, our friend’s bands, everyone who can play the guitar, and everyone who can’t play the guitar.”

    Horsegirl recorded Versions of Modern Performance with John Agnello (Kurt Vile, The Breeders, Dinosaur Jr.) at Chicago’s Electrical Audio. “It’s our debut bare-bones album in a Chicago institution with a producer who we feel like really respected what we were trying to do,” the band said. The record includes the previously released single ‘Billy’.

    Along with the album news, Horsegirl have also announced their first-ever UK and European shows, set to take place in June. Find the band’s tour schedule below, too.

    Versions of Modern Performance Cover Artwork:

    Versions of Modern Performance Tracklist:

    Digital

    1. Anti-glory
    2. Beautiful Song
    3. Live and Ski
    4. Bog Bog 1
    5. Dirtbag Transformation (Still Dirty)
    6. The Fall of Horsegirl
    7. Electrolocation 2
    8. Option 8
    9. World of Pots and Pans
    10. The Guitar is Dead 3
    11. Homage to Birdnoculars
    12. Billy

    Physical

    1. Electrolocation 1
    2. Anti-glory
    3. Beautiful Song
    4. Live and Ski
    5. Bog Bog 2
    6. Dirtbag Transformation (Still Dirty)
    7. The Fall of Horsegirl
    8. Option 8
    9. World of Pots and Pans
    10. The Guitar is Dead 3
    11. Homage to Birdnoculars
    12. Billy

    Horsegirl 2022 Tour Dates:

    Wed Mar 16 – Austin, TX – SXSW – Roskilde Festival @ Cheer Up Charlie’s
    Thu Mar 17 – Austin, TX – SXSW – SX San Jose @ Hotel San Jose
    Sat Mar 19 – Philadelphia, PA – PhilaMOCA
    Sun Mar 20 – Washington, DC – DC9
    Thu 16 Jun – Antwerp Trix Bar
    Fri 17 Jun – Paris Pop Up Du Label
    Sun 19 Jun – London Paper Dress Vintage – matinee show
    Sun 19 Jun – London Paper Dress Vintage – evening show
    Tue 21 Jun – Manchester YES (Basement)
    Wed 22 Jun – London Bermondsey Social Club
    Sun 26 Jun – Rough Trade Bristol
    Tue 28 Jun – Cologne Bumann & Sohn
    Fri 1 Jul – Roskilde Festival 2022
    Sat 2 Jul – Hamburg Molotow Upstairs
    Tue Mar 22 – Brooklyn, NY – Market Hotel
    Sun May 29 – Allston, MA – Boston Calling Festival
    Sun Jun 5 – Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall (RECORD RELEASE SHOW) #
    Fri Jul 15 – Vancouver, BC – Wise Hall *
    Sat Jul 16 – Seattle, WA – Neumos *
    Sun Jul 17 – Portland, OR – Polaris Hall *
    Tue Jul 19 – San Francisco, CA – Rickshaw Stop
    Thu Jul 21 – Los Angeles, CA – Zebulon *
    Fri Jul 22 – Los Angeles, CA – The Echo *
    Sat Jul 23 – Santa Ana, CA – Constellation Room *
    Tue Jul 26 – Minneapolis, MN – Fine Line *
    Wed Jul 27 – Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon *
    Fri Jul 30 – Sat. Jul. 31 – Detroit, MI – Mo Pop Festival
    Tue Aug 2 – Columbus, OH – Rumba Cafe *
    Wed Aug 3 – Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop *
    Fri Aug 5 – Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground *
    Sat Aug 6 – Montreal, QC – Petit Campus *

    # with Lifeguard, Friko, Post Office Winter
    * with Dummy

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading