Flasher Announce New Album ‘Love Is Yours’, Release New Song ‘Sideways’

    Flasher – now the duo of guitarist Taylor Mulitz and drummer Emma Baker – have announced their sophomore LP. Love Is Yours will arrive on June 17 via Domino. Lead single ‘Sideways’ comes with an accompanying video directed by Camille Smura. Check it out and find the album’s cover art (by Em Aull) and tracklist below.

    “Lyrically this song uses metaphors about driving as a means of escape/reflection,” Mulitz explained of ‘Sideways’ in a statement. “I’ve found that a lot of self-reflection and big realizations come to surface during the course of a long drive where I’m forced to sit with my own thoughts (which is where the idea for the racing video came from).”

    Love Is Yours will follow Flasher’s 2018 debut Constant Image. Since then, Mulitz has relocated to Los Angeles, while Baker is still based in Washington, DC; bassist Daniel Saperstein has left the group. “Once we had this implosion, we let go of the pretence and confines that we had pigeonholed ourselves into,” Mulitz added of the process behind the album. “Going into this record, the vision was pretty simple: we wanted to write songs that came intuitively. We were leaning into that while consciously creating a real space of trust and openness.”

    Love Is Yours Cover Artwork:

    Love Is Yours Tracklist:

    1. I Saw You
    2. Love Is Yours
    3. Little Things
    4. Nothing
    5. Spell It Out
    6. Still Life
    7. All Day Long
    8. I’m Better
    9. Sideways
    10. Pink
    11. Damage
    12. Dial Up
    13. Tangerine

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading