Arcade Fire Announce New Album ‘WE’, Share Video for New Single

    Arcade Fire have announced their new album: WE is out May 6 via Columbia Records. To mark the news, the band has shared a video for the new single ‘The Lightning I, II’, which they announced earlier this week. Check out the Emily Kai Bock-directed clip and find the album’s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    Nigel Godrich, Win Butler, and Régine Chassagne produced WE, which was recorded in multiple locales including New Orleans, El Paso, and Mount Desert Island. According to Butler, it marks “the longest we’ve ever spent writing, uninterrupted, probably ever.” The 40-minute, seven-song LP is divided into two sides: Side ‘I’ is about “the fear and loneliness of isolation” and Side ‘WE’ is about “the joy and power of reconnection,” per a press release. The album’s cover artwork features a photograph of the human eye by the artist JR with airbrush color tinting by Terry Pastor, who employed the same technique on David Bowie’s Hunky Dory and Ziggy Stardust covers.

    Arcade Fire shared the following note about the album:

    My grandmother read me a book when I was a little kid that had the word “WE” stamped into its cover in broken 1920s gold leaf

    As my eyes grew heavy, in the bedroom my father slept in as a child, I wondered…

    What is “WE”? Who are “WE”?

    There are questions that can rattle around in your head for a lifetime…
    but once in a while the centuries grind to a halt
    and WE are given the precious time
    to ask again in our child-like inner voice
    What is “WE”?
    Hiding in the shadow of Carl Jung
    is the WE that holds each other back
    and tears each other down
    the WE that whispers secrets
    and complains about paradise
    even heaven is too cold…
    But also it is the “ONE” of Marley, the Buddha and Abraham
    it’s the lightning strike
    of our magic mutual creation
    it’s the root
    WE share
    made of the same dust as the stars
    WE pray to
    It’s the dream of Martin Luther King Jr.
    and the iron of the nail on the church door of his namesake
    it’s the innocence and the mistake
    the universal flaw and the perfect imperfection
    The hipsters called it jazz
    The hippies called it love
    And we call it WE

    Arcade Fire’s last album, Everything Now, was released in 2017.

    WE Cover Artwork:

    WE Tracklist:

    1. Age of Anxiety I
    2. Age of Anxiety II (Rabbit Hole)
    3. End of the Empire I-IV
    4. The Lightning I, II
    5. Unconditional I (Lookout Kid)
    6. Unconditional II (Race and Religion)
    7. We

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading