Muse Announce New Album ‘Will of the People’, Share Video for New Single ‘Compliance’

    Muse have announced their next album: Will of the People arrives on August 26 via Warner Records. The album will include the previously shared single ‘Won’t Stand Down’, as well as a new track called ‘Compliance’, which comes with an accompanying video directed by Jeremi Durand and shot in Poland. Check it out below and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist. 

    Will of the People was created in Los Angeles and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world,” Matt Bellamy said in a press release. “A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests & riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order all informed Will of the People. It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened. This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.”

    Commenting on the new single, he said: “‘Compliance’ is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group. Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms & religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with. They sell us comforting myths, telling us only they can explain reality while simultaneously diminishing our freedom, autonomy and independent thought. We are not just coerced, we are herded, frightened and corralled to produce a daily ‘2 minutes of hate’ against an out-group of their choosing and to turn a blind eye to our own internal voice of reason & compassion. They just need our Compliance.”

    Muse’s previous album, Simulation Theory, was released in 2018.

    Will of the People Cover Artwork:

    Will of the People Tracklist:

    1. Will of the People
    2. Compliance
    3. Liberation
    4. Won’t Stand Down
    5. Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
    6. You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
    7. Kill Or Be Killed
    8. Verona
    9. Euphoria
    10. We Are Fucking Fucked

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading