Arooj Aftab Shares New Song ‘Udhero Na’ Featuring Anoushka Shankar

    Arooj Aftab has announced a deluxe edition of her third album, Vulture Prince, which will be out on June 24 via Verve. It includes the previously unreleased track ‘Udhero Na’, which features sitar-playing from Anoushka Shankar and harp from Maeve Gilchrist. Listen to it below.

    “‘Udhero Na’ has been one of my dearest songs, written in 2005 and never released, played live on and off over the years,” Aftab explained in a statement. “I’ve always held it close to my heart and am so happy to release it finally! It describes a very unique and fleeting emotional moment, a super underrated feeling. When the thought of someone from a very old and ‘passed’ relationship just pops into your head as you go about your present day to day.”

    Aftab is up for Best New Artist and Best Global Music Performance (for ‘Mohabbat’) at the 2022 Grammy Awards. Check out our Artist Spotlight interview with Arooj Aftab.

    Vulture Prince (Deluxe Edition) Tracklist:

    1. Baghon Main [feat. Darian Donovan Thomas]
    2. Diya Hai [feat. Badi Assad]
    3. Inayaat
    4. Last Night
    5. Mohabbat
    6. Saans Lo
    7. Suroor
    8. Udhero Na [feat. Anoushka Shankar]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading