Sound of Ceres Announce New Album Featuring Marina Abramović, Share New Song

    Sound of Ceres — the dream-pop project featuring members of Candy Claws – have announced their third album, Emerald Sea. Narrated by acclaimed artist Marina Abramović, the follow-up to 2017’s The Twin comes out June 17 via Joyful Noise. Check out the video for lead single ‘Arm of Golden Flame’ below.

    “Venus Caelestis, the morning star, embodiment of innocence and potential, journeys beneath the waves to be reborn as Venus Physica, a new vital force,” the band said of the track in a statement. “The Universe, voiced by Marina Abramović, follows unseen, watching this part of herself as they transform. It’s very important that all aspects of the band’s art (musical, visual, design) come from within, that is why band member Jacob Graham directed this debut video, with set-design and props handmade by all 4 band members.”

    Speaking about the collaboration with Abramović, they said: “I believe that Marina’s collaboration with us was inevitable from the very beginning of our audio/visual project formation. While our fated union at our Brooklyn residency in 2017 might feel like chance to some, to me, it felt incredibly foundational. The album making with her felt like years of a slow friendship building up to the creation of art colliding from both the audio and visual art world.”

    Abramović added: “My attraction to Sound of Ceres comes from the fact that the music feels so galactic – from a very part of the universe. And they create an emotional impact on my soul.”

    Emerald Sea Cover Artwork:

    Emerald Sea Tracklist:

    1. The Tower
    2. 2nd Star Shroud
    3. Sunray Venus
    4. The Glare
    5. Arm of Golden Flame
    6. Deeper Surround
    7. Enchanter
    8. Handlion’s Palace
    9. The Fawn
    10. Silent Singer

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading