Katie Alice Greer (ex-Priests) Announces Debut Album ‘Barbarism’, Shares Video for New Single

    Katie Alice Greer, formerly of Priests, has announced her debut solo album. Barbarism is out June 24 via FourFour Records. Today’s announcement comes with the release of lead single ‘FITS/My Love Can’t Be’, alongside an accompanying video. Check it out below.

    “I’d spent something like 70 days mostly alone since the pandemic started,” Greer said in a press release. “Then one weekend I biked out to Fairfax Avenue and found myself amongst thousands of people. It was jarring … To go from mostly the stillness of a barely-lived-in bedroom to projectile shopping carts, strangers chanting, phalanxes of beige gun toters, and tanks parallel parked outside luxury underwear and grocery shops on Melrose. Stuff was on fire. I think I listened to Exile On Main Street headed home, because it’s similarly contradictory and complicated mixture of emotions felt resonant. I wanted to try and capture all that I was feeling without so much as re-telling events that inspired the emotions themselves. ”

    “I’m not a journalist, but maybe to underscore the contrast between a reporter and a storyteller, I wanted to make a Network Howard Beale-inspired music video to visually communicate the cacophony of feeling,” she added of the video, which follows a news broadcast from the “Barbarism News Network.”

    Barbarism was written, performed, produced, and mixed entirely by Greer. Back in 2020, she shared two EPs, No One Else on Earth and 3 Colors. Priests announced an indefinite hiatus following the release of their album The Seduction of Kansas in 2019.

    Barbarism Cover Artwork:

    Barbarism Tracklist:

    1. FITS/My Love Can’t Be
    2. Talking In My Sleep (Intro)
    3. Fake Nostalgia
    4. Dreamt I Talk To Horses
    5. Flag Wave Pt. 1
    6. Flag Wave Pt. 2
    7. Captivated
    8. No Man
    9. A Semi Or A Freight Train
    10. How Do I Know (PRING 5)
    11. Barbarism

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading