Florist Announce New Album, Release Video for New Song

    Florist – the New York quartet of Emily Sprague, Jonnie Baker, Rick Spataro, and Felix Walworth – have announced their new self-titled album. Florist is set for release on July 29 via Double Double Whammy. They’ve also shared a video for the new single ‘Red Bird Pt. 2 (Morning)’, which you can check out below.

    “This song is the introduction to Florist, an album journey very much about the celebration of the people in our lives and the massive importance of connection,” Sprague explained in a statement. “It is lyrically and spiritually a continuation of where Florist left off 5 years ago at the end of If Blue Could Be Happiness. We recorded the song to 1/2” tape on a screened-in porch in June. The nature sounds are live. The birds really sang along.”

    A press release describes Florist as a companion to 2019’s Emily Alone, which was “essentially a [Sprague] solo album released under the Florist moniker.” Sprague added, “We called it Florist because this is not just my songs with a backing band. It’s a practice. It’s a collaboration. It’s our one life. These are my best friends and the music is the way that it is because of that.”

    Florist Cover Artwork:

    Florist Tracklist:

    1. June 9th Nighttime
    2. Red Bird Pt. 2 (Morning)
    3. Duet for Guitar and Rain
    4. Spring in Hours
    5. Bells Pt. 1
    6. Two
    7. Variation
    8. Organ’s Drone
    9. Duet for 2 Eyes
    10. Reprise
    11. 43
    12. Bells Pt. 2
    13. River’s Bed
    14. Sci-Fi Silence
    15. Finally
    16. Dandelion
    17. Bells Pt. 3
    18. Feathers
    19. Jonnie on the Porch

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading