Spacemoth Announces Debut Album ‘No Past No Future’, Releases New Song

    Spacemoth, the psych-pop project of Bay Area-based artist Maryam Qudus, has announced her debut album. No Past No Future will arrive July 22 on Sadie Dupuis’ label Wax Nine via Carpark Records. It includes the previously released single ‘This Shit’ as well as a new track called ‘Pipe and Pistol’, which comes with an Ambar Navarro-directed video. Check it out and find the LP’s cover art and tracklist below.

    “‘Pipe and Pistol’ revolves around a wobbly synth and distorted drum loop, played with and processed by a Korg MS-20,” Qudus said in a statement. “The song was inspired by my parents, who immigrated from Afghanistan in the late 70’s and explores the challenges faced when building a new life in America. Interweaving colorful psychedelic visuals and blue collar employment, Ambar Navarro’s video for ‘Pipe and Pistol’ speaks to the surreal and confusing experience of navigating a new life in America in the late 1970’s.”

    No Past No Future Cover Artwork:

    No Past No Future Tracklist:

    1. Mind Modulation
    2. This Shit
    3. Pipe and Pistol
    4. UFObird
    5. Waves Come Crashing
    6. L.O.T.F
    7. Asking For You
    8. Flutter Memory
    9. Round in Loops
    10. If I Close My Eyes and Pretend
    11. Noise of Everyday Life
    12. Berries and Watch You Cry
    13. No Past No Future

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading