Shabaka Hutchings Announces New EP ‘Afrikan Culture’, Shares New Single

    Shabaka Hutchings – the influential jazz saxophonist and leader of Sons of Kemet, the Comet Is Coming, and Shabaka and the Ancestors – has announced his first solo EP. Co-produced with Dilip Harris, Afrikan Culture is due for release on May 20 via Impulse! Records. Check out the new single ‘Black meditation’ below.

    “Afrikan Culture was made around the idea of meditation and what it means for me to still my own mind and accept the music which comes to the surface,” Hutchings explained in a statement. “It features various types of Shakuhachi flutes and a new technique of creating that I’ve been experimenting with in layering many flutes together to create a forest of sound where melodies and rhythms float in space and emerge in glimpses.”

    African Culture Cover Artwork:

    African Culture Tracklist:

    1. Black meditation
    2. Call it a European paradox
    3. Ital is vital
    4. Memories don’t live like people do
    5. Ritual awakening
    6. Explore inner space
    7. The dimension of subtle awareness
    8. Rebirth

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading