Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross Collaborate With Antonio Sánchez on New Song ‘I Think We’re Past That Now’

    Mexican-American multi-instrumentalist and drummer Antonio Sánchez has enlisted Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross for the new song ‘I Think We’re Past That Now’. Co-written by Reznor, Ross, and Sánchez with lyrics by Reznor, the track is taken from Sánchez’s upcoming album Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II), which is due for release on August 26 via Arts Music. Check it out below, along with the album’s cover art and tracklist.

    In addition to Reznor and Ross, Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II) features contributions from Dave Matthews, Becca Stevens, Meshell Ndegeocello, Kimbra, Rodrigo y Gabriela, and more. Talking about the process behind the album, Sánchez said: “My anger transformed. And the fact this material did not originate with me changed the equation. It helped me to bring a fresh perspective and a sense of wonder to “What else can this be?” And as a result of pandemic-related delays, I keep joking about my having been pregnant for a couple of years… and now there is a really epic baby.”

    Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II) Cover Artwork:

    Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II) Tracklist:

    1. Opening [feat. Ignacio López Tarso]
    2. Eh Hee 2.0 [feat. Dave Matthews and Pat Metheny]
    3. Mi Palabra [feat. Ana Tijoux]
    4. The Bucket [feat. Becca Stevens]
    5. I Think We’re Past That Now [feat. Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross]
    6. Alambari [feat. Maro]
    7. Doyenne [feat. Sonica]
    8. Risa de Mujer [feat. Lila Downs]
    9. Trapped (Red Room) [feat. Thana Alexa]
    10. Comet, Come to Me [feat. Meshell Ndegeocello]
    11. Waiting [ft. Antonio Sánchez]
    12. Risa de Mujer (Interlude) [feat. Lila Downs]
    13. El Agua y la Miel [feat. Silvana Estrada]
    14. Suspended Animation [feat. Kimbra]
    15. M-Power [feat. Rodrigo y Gabriela]
    16. Closing [feat. Ignacio López Tarso]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading