She & Him Announce Brian Wilson Covers Album, Release Video for ‘Darlin’’

    She & Him, the duo of Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward, have announced a new album titled Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson. Set for release on July 22 via Fantasy, the record includes their cover of ‘Darlin’ off 1967’s Wild Honey, which is out today. Give it a listen below.

    “In the spring of 2020, we started a list of our favorite Brian songs—a very long list,” She & Him said in a statement. “We chose songs without any regard to their chart performance. The obscure ones hit us just as hard as the more popular songs—and all are ripe for re-imagining, re-interpreting, and re-inventing. Brian writes songs of beauty and loneliness and vulnerability better than anyone—and by sequencing them next to popular songs of confidence and love and fun, it creates a more complete picture of life on earth.”

    Wilson added: “Zooey and Matt did such mind-blowing versions of our songs. The harmonies are beautiful and right on. I love this record!”

    Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson Cover Artwork:

    Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson Tracklist:

    1. Darlin’
    2. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
    3. Til I Die
    4. Deirdre
    5. Melt Away
    6. Good To My Baby
    7. Don’t Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)
    8. Don’t Worry Baby
    9. This Whole World
    10. Kiss Me, Baby
    11. Do It Again feat. Brian Wilson
    12. Heads You Win, Tails I Lose
    13. Please Let Me Wonder
    14. Meant For You

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading