Alex G Announces New Album ‘God Save the Animals’, Shares Video for New Single ‘Runner’

    Alex G has announced his next album: God Save the Animals is out September 23 via Domino. The follow-up to 2019’s House of Sugar will include the previously shared track ‘Blessing’, as well as a new single called ‘Runner’. Check out a video for it, shot by Aldo Fisk, below, along with the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    As with his previous records, the Philadelphia musician wrote and demoed the songs on God Save the Animals at home by himself; during its creation, however, Alex G visited multiple studios in greater Philadelphia in search of new sounds and “a routine that was outside of my apartment” during the pandemic. As a result, the LP features the work of “some half-dozen engineers,” per a press release, as well as individual contributions from his bandmates  – guitarist Samuel Acchione, drummer Tom Kelly, and bassist John Heywood – and frequent collaborator Molly Germer on strings and vocals.

    God Save the Animals Cover Artwork:

    God Save the Animals Tracklist:

    1. After All
    2. Runner
    3. Mission
    4. S.D.O.S.
    5. No Bitterness
    6. Ain’t It Easy
    7. Cross the Sea
    8. Blessing
    9. Early Morning Waiting
    10. Immunity
    11. Headroom Piano
    12. Miracles
    13. Forgive

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading