Indigo Sparke Announces New Album ‘Hysteria’, Shares Video for New Single

    Indigo Sparke has announced her new album, Hysteria, which will be out on October 7 via Sacred Bones. The follow-up to the Australian singer-songwriter’s 2021 debut Echo was produced by the National’s Aaron Dessner. New single ‘Pressure in My Chest’ is accompanied by a music video from director Madeline Clayton. Check it out below, and scroll down for the LP’s cover art and tracklist.

    Talking about the new song in a press release, Sparke said: “In the birth of memory, there is the eternal moment of time. All things exist here. Through night dreams and wishes, and hot tears and laughing stars, I carried myself to the desert to traverse the landscape of history and reconcile the ever present Pressure in my Chest.”

    Sparke finished writing Hysteria in the spring of 2021 before decamping to upstate New York to record the album. “I just had a really strong intuitive gut feeling that I would do this album with Aaron,” she explained. “We had met once years before in Eau Claire so I asked my manager to reach out to him. When we first talked, we talked about co-writing from scratch, I did have a big folder of demos but was nervous to share them, but after he heard them he said, ‘There’s so much to work with in here already.'”

    Dessner added: “I started hearing ideas listening to her voice almost immediately. We connected by phone and had a long talk. She was incredibly open and gracious and really it was creatively inspiring from the moment we started working. It always feels like some weird miracle when songs emerge that you want to listen to all the time – and this was definitely the case with her record. It feels cohesive and timeless and inspired to me in a way that I know I will keep coming back to. I think the chemistry is right.”

    Revisit our Artist Spotlight interview with Indigo Sparke.

    Hysteria Cover Artwork:

    Hysteria Tracklist:

    1. Blue
    2. Hysteria
    3. Pressure In My Chest
    4. God Is A Woman’s Name
    5. Why Do You Lie?
    6. Pluto
    7. Infinity Honey
    8. Golden Ribbons
    9. Real
    10. Sad Is Love
    11. Set Your Fire On Me
    12. Hold On
    13. Time Gets Eaten
    14. Burn

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading