Ruby Gill Announces Debut Album, Unveils New Song ‘I Forgot To Be Profound Today’

    South African/Australian singer-songwriter Ruby Gill has announced her debut album. I’m gonna die with this frown on my face arrives on September 2, and it includes a new single called ‘I Forgot To Be Profound Today’. Check it out below.

    In a statement, Gill described the new song as a “small act of defiance against a job that makes me tired and a world that I never feel truly interesting enough for.” She continued: “I have always (and I think a lot of us always) harboured a lot of internal pressure to be externally ‘interesting’ and to perform to a level that pleases capitalist ideals of what a functional, successful, worthy adult might look and behave like. But we cannot sing on key all day. There is too much joy and anger to exist within. I want to be a real human being again.”

    I’m gonna die with this frown on my face Cover Artwork:


    I’m gonna die with this frown on my face Tracklist:

    1. I Forgot To Be Profound Today
    2. Calling Out
    3. Anchor
    4. Stockings For Skating
    5. I’m Gonna Die With This Frown On My Face
    6. Public Panic Attacks
    7. In Time With The Engine Turning Over
    8. Cinnamon
    9. Dirty Work
    10. Borderlines
    11. Champion Ruby
    12. All The Birds Under The Westgate

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading