A.O. Gerber Announces New Album, Shares Video for New Song ‘Hunger’

    Los Angeles-based artist A.O. Gerber has announced her sophomore album, Meet Me At the Gloaming. The follow-up to 2020’s Another Place To Need will be out on October 14 via Father/Daughter Records (US) and Hand In Hive (UK). Today, Gerber has shared the new song ‘Hunger’, alongside a music video directed by Vivian Wolfson. Check it out and find the album’s cover art and tracklist below.

    “This song sort of wrote itself in the midst of a really devastating fire season in LA,” Gerber said of ‘Hunger’ in a press release. “I’d been thinking a lot about the opposing forces of desire and negation, all the different ways we both consume and restrict as individuals and as a culture. I’ve spent so much of my life vacillating between these polarities, making myself small physically and spiritually. I haven’t always had the ability to critique that impulse in myself but it felt good to do that here.”

    “This song is lyrically heavy, so I knew I wanted the video to poke a bit of fun at itself,” she added. “All I told Vivian (the director, who — let it be known — graduated high school less than a month after we filmed) was that I wanted cake to be shoved in my face at some point. From that she came up with this absurdly stunning set design and concept. Everyone on the crew put so much heart into it. I’ve never laughed so much on set.”

    Meet Me At the Gloaming Cover Artwork:

    Meet Me At the Gloaming Tracklist:

    1. Disciple Song
    2. Walk In The Dark
    3. Looking For The Right Things
    4. You Got It Right
    5. Mount Washington Phone Company
    6. Hunger
    7. For
    8. Just As A Child
    9. Noon Of Love
    10. PFS
    11. What Are You Reading?
    12. Only Myster

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading