The Cure Announce ‘Wish’ 30th Anniversary Reissue Featuring 24 Unreleased Tracks

    The Cure have announced a 30th anniversary reissue of their album Wish. Newly remastered by Robert Smith and Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios, the deluxe edition will include 24 previously unreleased tracks and four that were only available as a mail-order cassette and are new to CD and digital. Check out the tracklist, as well as a Dim-D mix of ‘Uyea Sound’, below.

    “There’s a side to the album which I had kind of forgotten, a very gentle, yearning thing which is quite beautiful,” Smith said of the album in a press release. “‘Trust’ is one of the best things we’ve ever done I think, it’s played with great feeling, and ‘To Wish Impossible Things’ is another gorgeous, melancholic piece… in fact it could well be my favourite song on the record.”

    “In the studio control room it all sounded excellent, but I got too busy sorting out our upcoming concerts to properly oversee the mastering,” he continued. “It was too late to do anything about it; the album was out, and we were off around the world again. It has really bugged for me for a very long time. It has taken 30 years, but finally, finally my Wish has come true.”

    The anniversary version of Wish will be released on 3xCD, double LP, single CD, and digitally on October 7.

    Wish (30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) Tracklist:

    1. Open (2022 Remaster)
    2. High (2022 Remaster)
    3. Apart (2022 Remaster)
    4. From the Edge of the Green Sea (2022 Remaster)
    5. Wendy Time (2022 Remaster)
    6. Doing the Unstuck (2022 Remaster)
    7. Friday I’m in Love (2022 Remaster)
    8. Trust (2022 Remaster)
    9. A Letter to Elise (2022 Remaster)
    10. Cut (2022 Remaster)
    11. To Wish Impossible Things (2022 Remaster)
    12. End (2022 Remaster)

    1. The Big Hand (1990 Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    2. Cut (1990 Demo)
    3. A Letter to Elise (1990 Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    4. Wendy Time (1990 Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    5. This Twilight Garden (Instrumental Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    6. Scared as You (Instrumental Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    7. To Wish Impossible Things (Instrumental Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    8. Apart (Instrumental Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    9. T7 (Instrumental Demo)
    10. Now Is the Time (Instrumental Demo)
    11. Miss van Gogh (Instrumental Demo)
    12. T6 (Instrumental Demo)
    13. Play (Instrumental Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    14. A Foolish Arrangement (Instrumental Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    15. Halo (Instrumental Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    16. Trust (Instrumental Demo) (2022 Remaster)
    17. Abetabw (Instrumental Demo)
    18. T8 (Instrumental Demo)
    19. Heart Attack (Instrumental Demo)
    20. Swing Change (Instrumental Demo)
    21. Frogfish (Instrumental Demo)

    1. Uyea Sound (Dim-D Mix)
    2. Cloudberry (Dim-D Mix)
    3. Off to Sleep… (Dim-D Mix)
    4. The Three Sisters (Dim-D Mix)
    5. A Wendy Band (Instrumental)
    6. From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea (Partscheckruf Mix) (2022 Remaster)
    7. Open (Fix Mix) (2022 Remaster)
    8. High (Higher Mix) (2022 Remaster)
    9. Doing the Unstuck (Extended 12″ Mix)
    10. Friday I’m in Love (Strangelove Mix) (2022 Remaster)
    11. A Letter to Elise (Blue Mix) (2022 Remaster)
    12. End (Live in Paris, 1992)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading