Bill Callahan Announces New Album ‘YTI⅃AƎЯ’

    Bill Callahan has announced he has a new album on the way. YTI⅃AƎЯ (the word “reality” spelled backward) is slated to arrive digitally on October 14 via Drag City, with a vinyl release due in February. Check out the album’s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    YTI⅃AƎЯ, which will follow 2020’s Gold Record, features Matt Kinsey on guitar, Emmett Kelly on bass and backing vocals, Sarah Ann Phillips on piano and backing vocals, and Jim White on drums. Callahan shared the following statement about the LP:

    I wanted to make a record that addressed or reflected the current climate. It felt like it was necessary to rouse people — rouse their love, their kindness, their anger, rouse anything in them. Get their senses working again. I guess there was already plenty of anger! But we needed a better anger. To get out of this hypnagogic state. Hypnagogic rage. Disassociated rage that destroys the community and leaves only the individual eating themselves alive instead of feeding others. We were born to feed others. We have milk, breasts. We have language, tongues. We have music, ears. All to feed.

    At the time it felt like we were coming out of something, getting clear of it. So I was picturing songs that would make sense to take before an audience at this crucial juncture — venturing out — where things could go either way. A reintroduction to the basics of life. Of human interaction. Face to face. A new clear vision. A new way. Which is probably just an old way we’d abandoned somewhere back there as we retreated into our screened, blindered existence.

    Sometimes you forget the most basic things. The biggest things! And it just takes a little nudge to get your head back on track. I wanted sounds and words that made you feel and that lifted you up. But first there was a need to bond, to clear the air. Or to just acknowledge the air. So there is some of that on the record. I went for horns because horns are heralds, triumphs, second line funerals and just breath forced through a metal maze or amusement park slide. And I wanted voices, I wanted multiple voices, not just mine. There is too much of just mine right now. So there are 6 or 7 people singing on this record.

    Listening to this record takes one hour. Ah hour sounds like a year to me these days. Taking an hour of someone’s life. I fault the internet. I fault ourselves for falling for the internet. An hour is actually lovely, nothing, a lifetime. You have to live that lifetime though in order to appreciate the hour. I’m not suggesting people must listen to this record all the way through in one sitting. It IS sequenced for that particular purpose, though, in case anyone wants to.

    YTI⅃AƎЯ Cover Artwork:

    YTI⅃AƎЯ Tracklist:

    1. First Bird
    2. Everyway
    3. Bowevil
    4. Partition
    5. Lily
    6. Naked Souls
    7. Coyotes
    8. Drainface
    9. Natural Information
    10. The Horse
    11. Planets
    12. Last One at the Party

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading