Whitney Release New Songs ‘Memory’ and ‘County Lines’

    Whitney have released another pair of tracks from their upcoming album Spark. ‘Memory’ features a string arrangement by Trey Pollard, while ‘County Lines’ features string arrangements by Rob Moose and Sam Gendel on saxophone. Take a listen below.

    “The lyrics of ‘MEMORY’ illustrate someone processing and eventually accepting their fear of death,” the band explained in a statement. “Halfway through writing the song our bandmate Will Miller sent along the chords for what would become the outro of the song without ever hearing ‘MEMORY.’ It was one of those harmonious moments where two separate ideas somehow fit together immediately. The final third speaking to the afterlife in a way we wouldn’t have been able to match with words.”

    Spark is set for release on September 16 via Secretly Canadian. It includes the previously shared songs ‘Real Love’, ‘Blue’, and ‘Twirl’.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading