Phoenix Announce New Album ‘Alpha Zulu’, Release New Song Featuring Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig

    Phoenix have announced Alpha Zulu, their first new album in five years. The follow-up to 2017’s Ti Amo arrives on November 4 via Loyaute/Glassnote. It was self-produced by the and recorded in Paris’ Musée des Arts Décoratifs, which sits in the Palais du Louvre. To accompany the announcement, they’ve shared a new song called ‘Tonight’, which features Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig. Check out its Oscar Boyson-directed video below, along with the album artwork and tracklist.

    “We felt it would be a fantastic adventure to create something out of nothing in a museum,” the band’s Laurent “Branco” Brancowitz said of the recording process in a statement. “And so with the pandemic, we could live exactly this scene, to be alone in an empty museum.”

    “I was a bit afraid, when there was too much beauty around us, that to create something could be a bit hard,” guitarist Christian Mazzalai added. “But it was the opposite: We couldn’t stop producing music. In these first 10 days, we wrote almost all of the album.”

    Earlier this year, Phoenix released Alpha Zulu’s title track.

    Alpha Zulu Tracklist:

    Alpha Zulu Tracklist:

    1. Alpha Zulu
    2. Tonight [feat. Ezra Koenig]
    3. The Only One
    4. After Midnight
    5. Winter Solstice
    6. Season 2
    7. Artefact
    8. All Eyes on Me
    9. My Elixir
    10. Identical

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading