The Smile’s Tom Skinner Announces New Album ‘Voices of Bishara’, Releases New Song

    Tom Skinner, the drummer best known for his work with The Smile and Sons of Kemet, has announced his debut solo LP. Voices of Bishara comes out November 4 via Nonesuch/International Anthem/Brownswood. Along with the announcement, he’s unveiled the LP’s lead single, ‘Bishara’. Check it out below, and scroll down for the album cover and tracklist.

    The album’s title is a reference to cellist Abdul Wadud’s 1978 solo album By Myself, which was pressed on Wadud’s label, Bisharra, which means “good news” or “bringer of good news” in Arabic.

    “This record is an attempt to put something truthful into the world, through collaboration and community, at a time of rising dishonesty and disinformation,” Skinner said in a statement. “Bishara is the bringer of good news, and by bringing the musicians on this album who are very dear to me together, we pay homage to that idea by collectively spreading light where there is increasing darkness.”

    Voices of Bishara Cover Artwork:

    Voices of Bishara Tracklist:

    1. Bishara
    2. Red 2
    3. The Journey
    4. The Day After Tomorrow
    5. Voices (of the Past)
    6. Quiet as it’s Kept

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading