Ariel Zetina Announces Debut Album, Releases New Song ‘Have You Ever’

    Chiacago-based producer Ariel Zetina has announced her debut album, Cyclorama, which will drop on October 21 via Local Action. The new song ‘Have You Ever’, which features Cae Monāe’, is the first taste from the album. Check it out below.

    “I imagine all the tracks on this as the lights and action projected onto the cyclorama,” Zetina explained in a statement. “The whole album is like the cyc, a representation of the sky. Or an imagined sky. An imagined dancefloor. An imagined theatrical production.”

    Of ‘Have You Ever’, Zetina said: “‘Have you ever been with a girl like me before?’ and all the lyrics refers to the fear and anxiety that cis men who are attracted to trans women feel, and also any woman that doesn’t fit the mold of a stereotypical woman. Cae and I – and many trans women – have been in so many situations where society tells cis men they cannot be with trans women and this explores that and gives power to all trans women in this situation. The techno reflects that, as well as the ‘Spell my name’ section at the end, showing the true power of trans women.”

    Cyclorama Cover Artwork:

    Cyclorama Tracklist:

    1. Cyclorama
    2. Have You Ever [feat. Cae Monāe]
    3. Smooch Track [feat. Dannn]
    4. Chasers
    5. Birdflite Tonite [feat. Violet]
    6. Slab of Meat
    7. Smoke Machine [feat. Bored Lord]
    8. Gemstone [feat. Mia Arevalo]
    9. Tropical Depression

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading