Honey Dijon Details New Album ‘Black Girl Magic’, Unveils New Single

    Chicago DJ and producer Honey Dijon has revealed the details of her second album, Black Girl Magic. The follow-up to 2017’s The Best of Both Worlds is set to drop on November 18 via Classic Music Company. ‘Show Me Some Love’, the latest single from the LP, features Channel Tres and Sadie Walker. Check it out below, along with the album artwork and tracklist.

    “This album is dedicated to love,” Dijon said of Black Girl Magic in a press statement. “Love of music, community, but most of all the love of self. Being true to who you are in spite of everything else and having the courage to love fearlessly.”

    Speaking of ‘Show Me Some Love’, Channel Tres commented: “I had a lot of fun working with Honey on this track, and it’s been fun through each step of the process,” Channel Tres We weren’t together so it’s always exciting to see where a collaborator will take the record when you send your parts over and this one was special to me. It’s everything I love about underground dance music confident, and sexy.”

    Eve, Pabllo Vittar, Josh Caffe, Mike Dunn, and more also feature Black Girl Magic. “I’m so excited to be a part of this album!” Eve remarked. “Working with Honey Dijon and Luke Solomun was so fun and something so different to what I’ve ever done before – singing for the first time on a house beat! I’m so grateful for Honey and Luke asking me to be a part of. I can’t wait for everyone to hear our track and for them to dance to it in the clubs.”

    For the album artwork, Dijon collaborated with British sculptor Jam Sutton, who created 3D sculptural digital renderings of the artist. “It was such a pleasure collaborating with Honey on a series of sculptures,” Sutton said. “Honey visited my studio where we spent an entire day discussing life and creativity. During this time, I captured a series of form studies using 3D scanning. Over the course of two years, Honey and I worked together creating this body of work.”

    “I’m interested in the moment of transformation from human to digital form, from physical to virtual,” Sutton continued. “There’s something compelling about capturing a portrait of my subject as three-dimensional data, which I then refine to create sculptural pieces. I’m attempting to record not only the form and contours of flesh, but also the essence of being; portraying human physicality suspended in digital space.”

    Black Girl Magic Cover Artwork:

    Black Girl Magic Tracklist:

    1. Honey Dijon – ‘Love Is’ [feat. Kameelah Waheed]
    2. Honey Dijon – Love Is A State Of Mind [feat. Ramona Renea]
    3. Honey Dijon – It’s Quiet Now [feat. Dope Earth Alien]
    4. Honey Dijon – Downtown [feat. Annette Bowen & Nikki-O]
    5. Honey Dijon – Drama [feat. Rimarkable & Dope Earth Alien]
    6. Honey Dijon – Stand [feat. Cor.Ece]
    7. Honey Dijon – In The Club [feat. Eve]
    8. Honey Dijon – Not About You [feat. Hadiya George]
    9. Honey Dijon – Everybody [feat. Pabllo Vittar & Urias]
    10. Honey Dijon – Love Me Like You Care [feat. Hadiya George]
    11. Honey Dijon & Channel Tres – Show Me Some Love [feat. Sadie Walker]
    12. Honey Dijon – Don’t Be Afraid [feat. LATÁSHA]
    13. Honey Dijon – Work [feat. Cor.Ece, Dave Giles & Mike Dunn]
    14. Honey Dijon – C’s Up [feat. Mike Dunn]
    15. Honey Dijon – La Femme Fantastique [feat. Josh Caffe]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading