Gladie Announce New Album, Share New Song ‘Nothing’

    Gladie – the Philadelphia band led by former Cayetana vocalist Augusta Koch and featuring members of Spirit of the Beehive, Tigers Jaw, and Witching – have announced a new LP. Don’t Know What You’re In Until You’re Out will arrive on November 18 via Plum Records, and its lead single, ‘Nothing’, is out now. Check it out below.

    Discussing the new album in a statement on Bandcamp, Koch said:

    I’m so excited to share this first song and announce our new record Don’t Know What You’re In Until You’re Out. We’ve been working on this record for a while now and to finally get to share a song from it feels exhilarating.

    This first song “nothing” came from a thought experiment based on what ended up being the chorus of the song “What would it feel like to want Nothing?” Basically, in all aspects of life, whether it’s relationships, consumerism, or any other constant desire, there is always this push from external and internal forces telling you, “More, More, More” but is that really a healthy way to live? Maybe it’s more fruitful to actually want less to make you appreciate that what you do possess is greater than it seems.

    The full record comes out November 18th via Plum Records. (The label I started with my soul mates Kelly Olsen and Allegra Anka.) The vinyl should ship out in early spring due to all the supply chain issues (fingers crossed it will show up at my house sooner) but you can pre-order it now and get the digital release as soon as the album comes out.

    Don’t Know What You’re In Until You’re Out was recorded at The Bunk in early 2022 with Matt Schimelfenig (guitar, keyboard, vocals), Pat Conaboy (guitar), Dennis Mishko (bass), and Miles Ziskind (drums) and Me, Gus (vocals and guitar). Matt also recorded and mixed the record, while Ryan Schwabe mastered. Mark Glick (cello), Mike Park (saxophone), and Brian Lockerm (trumpet) guest across four tracks on the album.

    When I sent the record to my best friend she said “I can hear your roots and your branches” which quite honestly is the greatest compliment I could hope for. I hope as long as I share music I can grow some new branches. We all deserve to grow. I really hope you guys enjoy it and from the bottom of my heart thank you for listening to our music. <3 Augusta

    Don’t Know What You’re In Until You’re Out Cover Artwork:

    Don’t Know What You’re In Until You’re Out Tracklist:

    1. Purple Year
    2. Born Yesterday
    3. Mud
    4. Hit the Ground Running
    5. Nothing
    6. Soda
    7. Heaven, Someday
    8. Fixer
    9. Smoking
    10. For a Friend
    11. Something Fragile

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading