The Arcs Announce First Album in 8 Years, Release New Single

    Dan Auerbach’s band the Arcs have announced their first album in eight years. Electrophonic Chronic, the follow-up to the Arcs’ 2015 debut LP Yours, Dreamily, is set to be released on January 27 via Auerbach’s own label Easy Eye Sound. The first single is called ‘Keep On Dreamin’, and it arrives today alongside an animated video created by Robert “Roboshobo” Schober and visual artist El Oms. Check it out below.

    Electrophonic Chronic was recorded between Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashville and Electric Lady and the Diamond Mind in New York, and it features the band’s original lineup of Auerbach, Leon Michels, Nick Movshon, Homer Steinweiss, and the late Richard Swift. Auerbach and Michels co-produced the album, which was mostly recorded prior to Richard’s passing in 2018.

    “This new record is all about honoring Swift,” Auerbach said in a press release. “It’s a way for us to say goodbye to him, by revisiting him playing and laughing, singing. It was heavy at times, but I think it was really helpful to do it.”

    “Whether it was New York City or Nashville or L.A. or Swift’s hometown of Cottage Grove, Oregon, wherever we were, we would always get in the studio together,” Auerbach added. “It was our favorite thing to do. It’s rare that you meet a group of people that you click with like that, who you instantly bond with. We were just having fun, making sounds, making music. It was an amazing time for me.”

    Michels commented: “There are probably between 80 and 100 tracks that we laid down, because we just constantly recorded after we put out Yours, Dreamily. It was so much fun to be in the studio once again, so we were just making music all the time. I think there was always a plan to make a follow-up record.”

    Electrophonic Chronic Cover Artwork:

    Electrophonic Chronic Tracklist:

    1. Keep On Dreamin’
    2. Eyez
    3. Heaven Is a Place
    4. Califone Interlude
    5. River
    6. Sunshine
    7. A Man Will Do Wrong
    8. Behind the Eyes
    9. Backstage Mess
    10. Sporting Girls Interlude
    11. Love Doesn’t Live Here Anymore
    12. Only One for Me

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading