Sunny War Announces New Album ‘Anarchist Gospel’, Shares New Song

    Singer-songwriter Sunny War has announced her signing with New West Records, which will release her new album Anarchist Gospel on February 3. The album was produced by Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Hurray for the Riff Raff) and features appearances by Jim James of My Morning Jacket, Allison Russell, David Rawlings, Jack Lawrence of the Raconteurs, Micah Nelson, The Deslondes’ John James Tourville, Kyshona Armstrong, Dennis Crouch, The School Zone Children’s Choir, and more. Check out the lead single ‘No Reason’ below.

    “This album represents such a crazy period in my life, between the breakup and the move to Nashville and my dad dying,” War explained in a statement. “But now I feel like the worst parts are over. What I learned, I think, is that the best thing to do is just to feel everything and deal with it. Just feel everything.”

    ‘No Reason’, she added, “is about the internal struggle that all people face just trying to be the best version of themselves. And the guilt that you feel when you’re not being the best version of yourself.”

    Anarchist Gospel Cover Artwork:

    Anarchist Gospel Tracklist:

    1. Love’s Death Bed
    2. No Reason
    3. Shelter And Storm
    4. I Got No Fight
    5. Swear To Gawd
    6. Earth
    7. New Day
    8. Baby Bitch
    9. His Love
    10. Hopeless
    11. Higher
    12. Test Dummy
    13. Sweet Nothing
    14. Whole

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading