Cloud Nothings, Frankie Cosmos, Charlotte Cornfield, and More Contribute to Sub Pop’s ‘The Eleventh Hour: Songs for Climate Justice’ Compilation

    Cloud Nothings, Frankie Cosmos, Deerhoof, Charlotte Cornfield, Oceanator, Finom, Guerilla Toss, Mamalarky, and more have contributed to Sub Pop‘s new digital-only compilation The Eleventh Hour: Songs for Climate Justice. Filmmaker Adam McKay and podcaster producer Matt Dwyer curated the album, which also features previously unreleased music from Fake Fruit, Death Valley Girls, Shanon Lay, Ya Tseen, Kevin Devine, and others. Funds raised from the compilation will directly benefit Climate Emergency Fund, which supports nonviolent, disruptive climate activism. Listen to it below.

    Adam McKay shared the following statement about the project:

    This is a frightening moment we’re living through. The climate is warming at an increasingly dangerous pace and Governments and Businesses seem hell-bent on ignoring the problem. And it’s at exactly moments like this when we need inspired artists to interpret, express and F.S.U. Add in the fact that all of the proceeds go to the Climate Emergency Fund and support international civil disobedience and this is one hell of a
    good trouble-making album.

    Play it loud.

    Play it soft.

    Play it while occupying an oil CEO’s office. They won’t like this album and would rather you play Rod Stewart’s Christmas album.
    (God bless Rod Stewart)
    The climate activists thank you for lending your ears and
    any and all possible support.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading