Steve Mason Announces New Album ‘Brothers & Sisters’, Releases New Song

    Former Beta Band frontman Steve Mason has shared the details of his fifth solo album, Brothers & Sisters, along with the lead single ‘No More’, which features Javed Bashir. The LP is out March 3, 2023 via Double Six. Check out the new song and find the album artwork and tracklist below.

    Co-produced with Tev’n, Brothers & Sisters features contributions from Javed Bashir, Jayando Cole, Keshia Smith, Connie McCall, Adrian Blake, and Kaviraj Singh. “To me, this record is a massive ‘Fuck you’ to Brexit,” Mason explained in a press release. “And a giant ‘Fuck you’ to anyone that is terrified of immigration because there is nothing that immigration has brought to this country that isn’t to be applauded. Can you imagine what this place would be like without that [immigration]? I mean what would it be like? Cornish pasties and morris dancing?”

    “This track is about Imperialism and in a subtle way, relative to some of my other work, references Australia, Partition and Africa through a combination of lyrics and music,” he added of ‘No More’. “I like to imagine the spirits of these cultures and people haunting the families who profited and were involved in their destruction down through the generations.”

    Brothers & Sisters Cover Artwork:

    Brothers & Sisters Tracklist:

    1. Mars Man
    2. I’m On My Way
    3. No More
    4. All Over Again
    5. The People Say
    6. Let It Go
    7. Pieces Of Me
    8. Travelling Hard
    9. Brixton Fish Fry
    10. Upon My Soul
    11. Brothers & Sisters

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading