Brockhampton Release ‘The Family’, New Album ‘TM’ Arriving Tonight

    As promised, Brockhampton have released what is billed as their final album, The Family, today (November 17). The group has now announced another surprise album, TM, which is set to come out tonight “as a parting gift” to fans, according to a press release. It features songs that took shape during a two-week stint in Ojai, California in 2021, but were never fully finished; Matt Champion executive produced the album to its completion. Stream The Family and check out TM‘s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    Kevin Abstract reflected on the group’s journey in a goodbye note, which reads:

    The year is 2009. I’m at my mom’s crib in Corpus on her big ass desktop computer. Gas station food. Hot ass afternoons. Washing cars for money. As most of us did, I shut down once I hit middle school. I was afraid to be vulnerable with my mom. I remember not feeling good enough for my dad. I remember pretending to be somebody new depending on who I was around. I used to wanna be an actor. My 14-year-old self was in pain. I was lost. Trapped. Broke. And so I dreamt. For reasons similar, but unique, everyone in this group dreamt too.

    That post on the forum was an olive branch. Everyone took a risk. We found each other and planted our own trees. I had a vision when I posted, but the way it would end up not only changing my life but having an impact on the culture we grew up on? Thank you. I think about all of the good that came from my pain. That pain, those dreams – that was the coal in the furnace of my creativity – and still, as we got big and cool shit started happening, those embers never left. The pain has found a way to adapt for the new life. Maybe that shit’s just the human condition or whatever. This project is the culmination of all that. And all that smoke from that furnace was making us all cough, for all our sakes it was time to air it out, to move into the future. Fresh air.

    I understand that some of the fans are upset that no one is on the album but me. Over the past few years, the members of the band began to move our separate ways, and focus on our individual careers and passions. With this project, a few of us were inspired to make something new that would bring closure to the past, and set the table for all of us to finally be able to explore our individual futures. I hope you understand and enjoy the music.

    I feel like whoever is reading this – whoever has been with BROCKHAMPTON since the beginning deserves some sort of closure. The album is an attempt at that. Thanks for giving us a chance. For holding me up. Holding me down. For being everything I needed when I was just some nigga from Texas. I still am. Yeah, this show is over, but the furnace is still glowing.

    What a blessing this has been.

    with all the love, ian

    TM Cover Artwork:

    TM Tracklist:

    1. FMG
    2. Animal
    3. Listerine
    4. New Shoes
    5. Keep It Southern
    6. Man On The Moon
    7. Better Things
    8. Crucify Me
    9. Duct Tape
    10. Always Something
    11. Goodbye

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading