Metallica Announce New Album ’72 Seasons’, Share Video for New Single ‘Lux Æterna’

    Metallica are back with news of their 12th studio album: 72 Seasons will be released on April 14, 2023 via the band’s own Blackened Recordings. The follow-up to 2016’s Hardwired…To Self-Destruct was produced with Greg Fidelman, and it includes the new single ‘Lux Æterna’, which is out today alongside a Tim Saccenti-directed video. Check it out below and scroll for the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Discussing the concept behind the album’s title, James Hetfield said in a press release: “72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry.”

    In addition to the album announcement, Metallica have announced the M72 world tour, which kicks off in April and runs through September 2024. Find the list of dates below, too.

    72 Seasons Cover Artwork:

    72 Seasons Tracklist:

    1. 72 Seasons
    2. Shadows Follow
    3. Screaming Suicide
    4. Sleepwalk My Life Away
    5. You Must Burn!
    6. Lux Æterna
    7. Crown of Barbed Wire
    8. Chasing Light
    9. If Darkness Had a Son
    10. Too Far Gone?
    11. Room of Mirrors
    12. Inamorata

    Metallica Tour Dates:

    Thu Apr 27 2023 – Amsterdam NL – Johan Cruijff Arena
    Sat Ap 29 2023 – Amsterdam NL – Johan Cruijff Arena
    Wed Ma 17 2023 – Paris FR – Stade de France
    Frid Ma 19 2023 – Paris FR – Stade de France
    Frid Ma 26 2023 – Hamburg DE – Volksparkstadion
    Sun Ma 28 2023 – Hamburg DE – Volksparkstadion
    Frid Jun 16 2023 – Gothenburg SE – Ullevi Stadium
    Sun Jun 18 2023 – Gothenburg SE – Ullevi Stadium
    Fri Aug 4 2023 – East Rutherford, NJ – MetLife Stadium
    Sun August 6 2023 – East Rutherford, NJ – MetLife Stadium
    Fri Aug 11 2023 – Montreal, QC – Stade Olympique
    Sun Aug 13 2023 – Montreal, QC – Stade Olympique
    Fri Aug 18 2023 – Arlington, TX – AT&T Stadium
    Sun Aug 20 2023 – Arlington, TX – AT&T Stadium
    Fri Aug 25 2023 – Inglewood, CA – SoFi Stadium
    Sun Aug 27 2023 – Inglewood, CA – SoFi Stadium
    Frid Sep 1 2023 – Glendale, AZ – State Farm Stadium
    Sun Sep 3, 2023 – Glendale, AZ – State Farm Stadium
    Fri Nov 3, 2023 – St. Louis, MO – The Dome at America’s Center
    Sun Nov 5, 2023 – St. Louis, MO – The Dome at America’s Center
    Fri Nov 10, 2023 – Detroit, MI – Ford Field
    Sun Nov 12, 2023 – Detroit, MI – Ford Field
    Fri May 24 2024 – Munich DE – Olympiastadion
    Sun May 26 2024 – Munich DE – Olympiastadion
    Fri Jun 7 2024 – Helsinki FI – Olympic Stadium
    Sun Jun 9 2024 – Helsinki FI – Olympic Stadium
    Fri Jun 14 2024 – Copenhagen DK – Parken Stadium
    Sun, Jun 16 2024 – Copenhagen DK – Parken Stadium
    Fri Jul 5 2024 – Warsaw PL – PGE Narodowy
    Sun Jul 7 2024 – Warsaw PL – PGE Narodowy
    Fri Jul 12 2024 – Madrid ES – Estadio Cívitas Metropolitano
    Sun Jul 14 2024 – Madrid ES – Estadio Cívitas Metropolitano
    Fri Aug 2 2024 – Foxborough, MA – Gillette Stadium
    Sun Aug 4 2024 – Foxborough, MA – Gillette Stadium
    Fri Aug 9 2024 – Chicago, IL – Soldier Field
    Sun Aug 11 2024 – Chicago, IL – Soldier Field
    Fri Aug 16 2024 – Minneapolis, MN – US Bank Stadium
    Sun Aug 18 2024 – Minneapolis, MN – US Bank Stadium
    Fri Aug 23 2024 – Edmonton, AB – Commonwealth Stadium
    Sun Aug 25 2024 – Edmonton, AB – Commonwealth Stadium
    Fri Aug 30 2024 – Seattle, WA – Lumen Field
    Sun Sep 1 2024 – Seattle, WA – Lumen Field
    Fri Sep 20 2024 – Mexico City MX – Foro Sol
    Sun Sep 22 2024 – Mexico City MX – Foro Sol
    Fri Sep 27 2024 – Mexico City MX – Foro Sol
    Sun Sep 29 2024 – Mexico City MX – Foro Sol

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading