Total Downer Announce Debut Album, Share New Song ‘Star Rek’t’

    Cleveland emo-punks Total Downer have announced their debut LP, Caretaker, which drops on January 27 via Just Because Records. Today, the band has shared the album’s first single, ‘Star Rek’t’, alongside an accompanying video. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    “’Star Rek’t’ is a song I wrote as a response track to Weezer’s Pinkerton,” vocalist Andy Schumann commented in a statement. “I think that album is really immature. I wanted to offer an alternative way of grappling with similar feelings of loneliness, discomfort with sex, and yearning to be understood that isn’t rooted in unkindness, misogyny, and racial fetishism. I want this to be a song you can put on if you are experiencing sexual desire but also struggling to see your body as anything but a dangerous weapon.”

    Caretaker Cover Artwork:

    Caretaker Tracklist:

    1. Stupid Smile
    2. Dr. Phil
    3. Dolly Parton
    4. Star Rek’t 02:07
    5. Taylor Lautner
    6. Big Mouth
    7. Shut Up
    8. Cruel
    9. Falling In Love With You
    10. Big Man
    11. Hurt Slow
    12. Thank You For Listening
    13. Luis

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading