Fenne Lily Announces New Album ‘Big Picture’, Shares Video for New Song

    Fenne Lily has announced her next album, Big Picture. The follow-up to 2020’s BREACH will arrive on April 14 via Dead Oceans. Today, the New York-based artist has previewed the 10-track LP with a video for the single ‘Lights Light Up’. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    Big Picture was recorded live in co-producer Brad Cook’s North Carolina studio. It was mixed by Jay Som’s Melina Duterte and features contributions from Christian Lee Hutson and Katy Kirby. “Writing this album was my attempt at bringing some kind of order to the disaster that was 2020,” Lily said in a press release. “By documenting the most vulnerable parts of that time, I felt like I reclaimed some kind of autonomy.”

    Of the new single, she added: “I’d never really written about love in the present tense before this, but even though I was still in love and not thinking about the end, there was something else going on subconsciously that led to a song about moving on before the moving on had begun. When it came time to record, the band and I had been playing it live for a while and it’d become something joyful and positive, but when I started recording vocals, the lyrics made me cry. By that point the song was over a year old and I thought those wounds had healed but I guess it hurt to admit I’d been letting go of something while still trying to hold on.”

    Big Picture Cover Artwork:

    Big Picture Tracklist:

    1. Map of Japan
    2. Dawncolored Horse
    3. Lights Light Up
    4. 2+2
    5. Superglued
    6. Henry
    7. Pick
    8. In My Own Time
    9. Red Deer Day
    10. Half Finished

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading