Xylouris White Announce New Album ‘The Forest in Me’, Share New Single

    Xylouris White, the duo of Jim White and George Xylouris, have announced a new album. Out April 14 via Drag City, The Forest in Me was produced and engineered by Fugazi’s Guy Picciotto, who is described in a press release as the band’s “secret third member.” Lead single ‘Latin White’ arrives with a video directed by Rebecca E. Marshall. Check it out and find the album’s cover art and tracklist below.

    “In late 2019, we had begun taking steps to working on new material,” Picciotto explained in a statement. “In a haphazard fashion, Jim and I started tracking drums in my basement, cutting them up into shapes with no set landing in mind. Some of it we sent to Giorgos in Crete – he responded with his lyra and his lute. Without intention we had initiated a process that would soon become more ruthlessly mandated by the world events that separated and isolated us to three corners of the globe in the following year.”

    “While we were recording, I noticed that the music had a certain solitude about it, both from the title and from inside,” Xylouris said. “That led us to find more music from within that we had not yet discovered.”

    White added: “The idea emerged, naturally nourished and nourishing a record with none of our usual angles and themes, no verbal language, no angst nor sudden dynamics, a more subtle structure. And we found The Forest in Me.”

    The Forest in Me Cover Artwork:

    The Forest in Me Tracklist:

    1. Second Sister
    2. Latin White
    3. Seeing the Everyday
    4. Missing Heart
    5. Tails of Time
    6. Night Club
    7. Forest in Me
    8. Red Wine
    9. Underworld
    10. Witnessed by Angels
    11. Memories and Souvenirs
    12. Long Doll

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading