Petite Noir Announces New Album ‘MotherFather’, Enlists Sampa the Great for New Song

    Petite Noir has announced MotherFather, his first new LP since the 2018 visual album La Maison Noir. It’s out April 14 via ROYA/Warp, and today, the Congolese artist has previewed it with the single ‘Blurry’, which features Sampa the Great and comes with a video directed by Hector Aponysus. Check it out below and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    “‘Blurry’ is a song about growth in love,” Petite Noir explained in a statement. “Being ready to take that next step whether it means being together or apart. Sometimes the best thing you can do is just move forward with your life solo. Choosing you above all.”

    Sampa the Great added: “I felt so honoured to be able to work with Petite Noir. I’ve looked up to him and his music for a while and I’m truly inspired by his courage in paving the way for alternative musicians in Africa who feel like they don’t fit into one genre or one style.”

    Of the album, which is subtitled The darkness is comforting sometimes, Petite Noir said: “It’s about going through the darkness. But it’s also about rebirth – because the dark times are needed for us to grow.”

    MotherFather Cover Artwork:

    MotherFather Tracklist:

    1. 777
    2. Blurry [feat. Sampa the Great]
    3. Numbers
    4. Concrete Jungle
    5. Skit
    6. Finding Paradise
    7. Simple Things [feat. Theo Croker]
    8. Best One
    9. Love Is War
    10. Play

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading