Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit Announce New Album ‘Weathervanes’, Share New Single ‘Death Wish’

    Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit have announced their eighth album, Weathervanes, which will be out on June 9 via Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers. Today, they’ve previewed the LP – Isbell’s first collection of original songs since 2020’s Reunions – with the new single ‘Death Wish’. Check it out below and scroll down for the album’s cover art and tracklist.

    Recorded at Nashville’s Blackbird Studio, Weathervanes features guest contributions from Isbell’s wife Amanda Shires, harmonicist Mickey Raphael, Sylvia Massy and Ian Rickard  on backing vocals, and Morgan O’Shaughnessey on strings. The 400 Unit is made up of Derry deBorja (keyboards), Chad Gamble (drums), Jimbo Hart (bass), and Sadler Vaden (guitar).

    “There is something about boundaries on this record,” Isbell said in a press release. “As you mature, you still attempt to keep the ability to love somebody fully and completely while you’re growing into an adult and learning how to love yourself.”

    Weathervanes Cover Artwork:

    Weathervanes Tracklist:

    1. Death Wish
    2. King of Oklahoma
    3. Strawberry Woman
    4. Middle Of The Morning
    5. Save The World
    6. If You Insist
    7. Cast Iron Skillet
    8. When We Were Close
    9. Volunteer
    10. Vestavia Hills
    11. White Beretta
    12. This Ain’t It
    13. Miles

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading