Kara Jackson Announces Debut Album, Releases New Song ‘Pawnshop’

    The Chicago poet and singer-songwriter Kara Jackson has announced their debut album. It’s called Why Does the Earth Give Us People to Love?, and it arrives on April 14 via September. Check out the new singe ‘Pawnshop’ below, along with the album’s cover art and tracklist.

    According to Jackson, ‘Pawnshop is “about uncovering how worth is subjective. It’s taking ‘one man’s trash is another man’s treasure’ and reveling in that sentiment, taking pride in the fact that even if people can’t understand your value, only you know how priceless you are.”

    Why Does the Earth Give Us People to Love features production contributions from Nnamdï, Kaina, and Sen Morimoto, as well as the early singles ‘No Fun/Party’, ‘Dickhead Blues’, and ‘Brain’.

    Why Does the Earth Give Us People to Love? Cover Artwork:

    Why Does the Earth Give Us People to Love? Tracklist:

    1. recognized
    2. no fun/party
    3. dickhead blues
    4. therapy
    5. pawnshop
    6. brain
    7. free
    8. lily
    9. rat
    10. Why does the earth give us people to love?
    11. curtains
    12. recognize reprise
    13. liquor

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading