superviolet Announce Debut Album ‘Infinite Spring’, Share New Song ‘Overrater’

    superviolet is the new project from Steven Ciolek of the Ohio band Sidekicks, who announced they had broken up late last year. Today, he’s announcing its debut album, Infinite Spring, which will be out April 21 via Lame-O Records. Check out the lead single ‘Overrater’, which comes with a video directed by Kosoma Jensen, below.

    “The Sidekicks started when I was 15, when I was just starting to write music. So having an idea, bringing it to practice, and having the band turn it into something was just how I learned to make songs,” Ciolek explained in a press release. “But I always would have ideas in my mind of doing things a different way or exploring certain things on my own. So when we stopped, I wanted to just have a clean slate to try and have a new songwriting project. The idea behind Infinite Spring as an album was to try to capture that feeling of openness or possibility or growth.”

    He added: “The songwriting process felt more all over the place than it had in the past. It was pretty unhurried. A lot of times with a band there’s just sort of inherently a style that you’re going to fall into, whereas with this I felt like I could try any random idea. The Sidekicks also played a lot of shows and so considering whether or not a song would work live was a big part of it. But playing live really didn’t inform what I was writing at all this time.”

    Infinite Spring Tracklist: 

    1. Angels On The Ground
    2. Blue Bower
    3. Big Songbirds Don’t Cry
    4. Good Ghost
    5. Dream Dating
    6. Long Drive
    7. Locket
    8. Overrater
    9. Infinite Spring
    10. Wave Back

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading