Tinariwen Announce New Album ‘Amatssou’, Release New Song

    The Tuareg band Tinariwen have announced their new album, Amatssou, which will be released on May 19 via Wedge. They’ve also shared its lead single, ‘Tenere Den’, which is accompanied by an Alexis Jamet-directed visual. Check it out below.

    Marking the band’s ninth studio LP, Amatssou was produced by Daniel Lanois and recorded in Djanet, an oasis in the desert of southern Algeria located in Tassili N’Ajjer National Park. It features contributions from Jack White collaborator Fats Kaplin, Wes Corbett, and Kabyle percussionist Amar Chaoui.

    Amatssou Cover Artwork:

    Amatssou Tracklist:

    1. Kek Algham
    2. Tenere Den
    3. Arajghiyine
    4. Imzad (Interlude)
    5. Tidjit
    6. Jayche Atarak
    7. Imidiwan Mahitinam
    8. Ezlan
    9. Anemouhagh
    10. Iket Adjen
    11. Nak Idnizdjam
    12. Tinde (Outro)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading