Jenny Owen Youngs Announces New Album, Shares New Song ‘sunrise mtn’

    Jenny Owen Youngs has announced a new ambient album titled from the forest floor. The 12-track LP will be out May 5 via OFFAIR Records. Along with the announcement, she’s shared the single ‘sunrise mtn’, which you can hear below.

    “This song is named for a peak in the Kittatinny Mountains in north Jersey, that lies along the Appalachian Trail in Stokes State Forest,” Youngs explained in a statement. “Standing at the top, you can see New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and New York spread out below; it’s a popular place to watch the sun come up. This piece is an invitation to look up and to look out, towards the clean slate of another tomorrow coming up over the horizon line. It was a pleasure to work with John Mark Nelson on this piece (and across the entire album) for many reasons, especially because he’s kind of like a human sunrise, and finds a way to infuse light into every song he touches.”

    from the forest floor Tracklist:

    1. sunrise mtn [feat. John Mark Nelson]
    2. dove island [feat. John Mark Nelson]
    3. skylands [feat. John Mark Nelson]
    4. tannery falls [feat. John Mark Nelson]
    5. ambrosia [feat. John Mark Nelson & Hrishikesh Hirway]
    6. hemlock shade [feat. John Mark Nelson]
    7. dusk [feat. John Mark Nelson & Tancred]
    8. night-blooming [feat. John Mark Nelson]
    9. forager in the fern grove [feat. John Mark Nelson & Tancred]
    10. moon moth [feat. John Mark Nelson & Tancred]
    11. echolocation [feat. John Mark Nelson]
    12. blue hour [feat. John Mark Nelson]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading