The Hives Announce First New Album in 11 Years, Share Video for New Single

    The Hives have announced their first new LP in over a decade. The follow-up to 2012’s Lex Hives is called The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons, and it’s set to arrive on August 11 via FUGA. Lead single ‘Bogus Operand is accompanied by an Aube Perrie-directed video, which you can check out below.

    “There’s no maturity or anything like that bullshit, because who the fuck wants mature rock’n’roll?” frontman Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist said of the new LP in a statement. That’s always where people go wrong, I feel. ‘It’s like rock’n’roll but adult,’ nobody wants that! That’s literally taking the good shit out of it. Rock’n’roll can’t grow up, it is a perpetual teenager and this album feels exactly like that, which it’s all down to our excitement – and you can’t fake that shit.”

    A press release describes the lore around the album as such:

    As the album’s macabre title hints, the band’s extended absence from the studio has been no hiatus but rather a horror story. The Hives now admit they have not seen nor spoken to their founder, mentor and songwriter, the perpetual limelight-shunning Randy Fitzsimmons, since the release of 2012’s Lex Hives. Following the recent discovery of a hidden away obituary and cryptic poem in the local paper of the Northern Vastmanland town where The Hives are from, the band members were led to Fitzsimmons’ tombstone. Upon digging the freshly interred ground, the band found not a body but instead several tapes, suits, and a piece of paper bearing the words “The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons” typed up as if a title. Whether a hoax or Fitzsimmons’ opening gambit, remains to be seen. The uncovered tapes included the demos that would become the twelve new songs on The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons.

    The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons Cover Artwork:

    The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons Tracklist:

    1. Bogus Operandi
    2. Trapdoor Solution
    3. Countdown To Shutdown
    4. Rigor Mortis Radio
    5. Stick Up
    6. Smoke & Mirrors
    7. Crash Into The Weekend
    8. Two Kinds Of Trouble
    9. The Way The Story Goes
    10. The Bomb
    11. What Did I Ever Do To You?
    12. Step Out Of The Way

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading