Fontaines D.C.’s Grian Chatten Announces Debut Solo Album, Shares New Single ‘Fairlies’

    Fontaines D.C. vocalist Grian Chatten has announced his debut solo LP: Chaos for the Fly is out June 30 via Partisan Records. New single ‘Fairlies’, which follows earlier offering ‘The Score’, arrives today along with a video animated by Callum Scott-Dyson. Check it out below and scroll down for the album’s cover art and tracklist.

    Talking about the new track, Chatten said in a statement: “I wrote ‘Fairlies’ in intense heat. Partly in Jerez, Spain, partly in LA a couple of days before a Fontaines D.C. tour kicked off. It was a quick write, and I believe I celebrated each line with a beer.”

    Chaos for the Fly was co-produced by longtime Fontaines D.C. collaborator Dan Carey. “I just thought: I want to do this myself,” Chatten explained. “I know where we as a band are going next and that’s not where I want to go with this. I’ve got a couple of exaggerated aspects of my soul that I wanted to express. The rest of the band are all creative and songwriters in their own right, too. I didn’t want to go to them and be like, ‘No, every single thing has to be like this.’ I didn’t want to compromise with these songs in that way.”

    He added: “A lot of the album was written with just me and a guitar and I really like the idea of it being boiled down to those elements. That feeling of having the song in the palm of your hand, that control of having it with just you and a guitar. There’s an intensity as a result of that.”

    Chaos for the Fly Cover Artwork:

    Chaos for the Fly Tracklist:

    1. The Score
    2. Last Time Every Time Forever
    3. Fairlies
    4. Bob’s Casino
    5. All Of The People
    6. East Coast Bed
    7. Salt Throwers Off A Truck
    8. I Am So Far
    9. Season For Pain

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading