Crooks & Nannies Announce New Album ‘Real Life’, Release New Single

    Crooks & Nannies – the West Philadelphia duo comprising vocalist/guitarist Max Rafter and vocalist/drummer Sam Huntington – have announced their record label debut, Real Life. Following their 2023 No Fun EP, which included the single ‘control’, the album drops August 25 on Grand Jury Music. Lead cut ‘Temper’ comes paired with a Jarmel Reitz-directed video, which you can check out below.

    “I wrote ‘Temper’ after I found out about something cruel a friend of mine had done before I met him,” Rafter explained in a press release. “My knee-jerk response was to not believe it. He was a kind person that I had so much love for, who took up space in a good way. I felt duped and surprised. It expanded my understanding of people’s capacity to do bad things but still be lovable. It had happened years prior to me finding out and it felt like it was told to me in a whisper. There was so much misplaced effort put into burying what he didn’t want to look at rather than taking accountability.”

    “In writing the song I was imagining myself as the type of person who feels entitled to take things from others and without hesitation,” Rafter continued. “I thought about how I can be naive about people, easily swayed and taken advantage of. ‘Temper’ is a story about power dynamics and writing it made me look at all relationships in my life through a new lens. I don’t like to think of relationships as an exchange, or keep track of who is giving or taking more. But, sometimes that means it takes a long time for me to realize I’m not getting treated in the way I deserve.”

    Real Life Cover Artwork:

    Real Life Tracklist:

    1. N95
    2. Temper
    3. Cold Hands
    4. Big Mouth Bass
    5. Growing Pains
    6. Country Bar
    7. A Gift
    8. Immaculate
    9. Weather
    10. Nice Night

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading