Juliana Hatfield Covers ELO’s ‘Don’t Bring Me Down’

    Juliana Hatfield has announced a new covers LP, Juliana Hatfield Sings ELO, out November 17 via American Laundromat Records. It’s the latest addition to her covers series, following 2018’s Juliana Hatfield Sings Olivia Newton-John and 2019’s Juliana Hatfield Sings The Police. Listen to her take of ELO’s ‘Dont Bring Me Down’ below.

    “ELO songs were always coming on the radio when I was growing up,” Hatfield said in a statement. “They were a reliable source of pleasure and fascination. With this album of covers I wanted to get my hands deep into some of the massive ‘70’s hits but I am also shining a light on some of the later work… My task was to try and break all the things down and reconstruct them subtly until they felt like mine.”

    “ELO’s ‘Don’t Bring Me Down’ is such a solid construction that trying to rework it initially felt like taking a sledgehammer to concrete,” Hatfield added. “I didn’t worry about matching all the original’s exact sounds and parts, and we even dared a few cymbal crashes (the ELO version has one famously unchanging drum loop – no crashes—from start to finish). This is not a radical reinvention but it is a little more bubbly.”

    Juliana Hatfield Sings ELO Cover Artwork:

    Juliana Hatfield Sings ELO Tracklist:

    1. Sweet Is The Night
    2. Can’t Get It Out Of My Head
    3. Showdown
    4. Strange Magic
    5. Don’t Bring Me Down
    6. Telephone Line
    7. Secret Messages
    8. Bluebird Is Dead
    9. From The End Of The World
    10. Ordinary Dream

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading