Stephen Steinbrink Announces New Album ‘Disappearing Coin’, Shares New Single ‘Opalescent Ribbon’

    Oakland, California musician Stephen Steinbrink has announced his first new album in five years. Disappearing Coin, the follow-up to 2018’s Utopia Teased, comes out August 18 on Western Vinyl. Today, Steinbrink has shared a self-directed video for the lead single ‘Opalescent Ribbon’, which was written in partnership with Paul Frunzi. Check it out below.

    Speaking about the track, Steinbrink said in a statement:

    In spring 2020, I somehow convinced my friend Nicholas Wilbur to let me hide in his studio, the massive Unknown in Anacortes, WA. I slept on the floor for six weeks, counted dust bunnies, and waited for songs. Nicholas encouraged me to use the studio during my weird residency and pulled out several API microphone preamps from the racks for me to use in a little recording nest I set up in the center of the massive live room. I followed the various musical threads that dropped in front of my face, collaging ideas into songs . Opalescent Ribbon was the result of a 50/50 collaboration between myself and Paul Frunzi of Ever Ending Kicks. Our method was to drink coffee at midnight and write together, overlaying melodies onto repetitive rhythms and improvised drones. It felt new and fun. I wrote the lyrics to verse one, and he wrote the second. I enjoyed finding meaning in the abstract images and cut-ups we invented. If I remember correctly, after tracking the song, we watched the classic George Miller 1998 psychedelic masterpiece “Babe” Pig in the City”.

    Disappearing Coin features contributions from Boy Scouts’ Taylor Vick, Paul Frunzi of Ever Ending Kicks, Nick Levine of Jodi, and longtime co-arranger Andrew Dorsett. “As I slowly began writing for myself again, I tried to imbue my new songs with this sense of playfulness and wonder I felt while exploring these other interests,” Steinbrink explained. “The album feels like an integration of all of my past musical selves zeroing in on the present. I felt free to explore new ways of writing, through different perspectives, experimenting with fictional songwriting, visual archetypal language, and total collaboration.”

    Disappearing Coin Cover Artwork:

    Disappearing Coin Tracklist:

    1. Opalescent Ribbon
    2. If There’s Love in Your Heart
    3. Cruiser
    4. Nowhere Real
    5. Pony
    6. Glitch Eternity
    7. Step’s Disappearing Coin
    8. Cruiser (Reprise)
    9. Cool and Collected
    10. Comedy
    11. Who Cares
    12. Poured Back in the Stream
    13. Addicted to a Dream
    14. Nowhere Real (Reprise)
    15. It Is What I Want, But Not What I Need

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading