Big Thief’s Buck Meek Announces New Album ‘Haunted Mountain’, Shares New Single

    Big Thief guitarist Buck Meek has announced a new album, Haunted Mountain. The follow-up to 2021’s Two Saviors will arrive on August 25 via his new label home, 4AD. Today, Meek has shared the LP’s lead single and title track, which was co-written with Jolie Holland, who co-wrote five of the album’s 11 tracks. “It’s about being humbled by the thing you’re drawing power from only at which point an actual, fair relationship begins,” Meek said in a statement. Check out the song’s Riley Engemoen-directed video below.

    Along with his longtime backing band — Adam Brisbin (guitar), Austin Vaughn (drums), and Mat Davidson (pedal steel, bass) – Meek is joined on Haunted Mountain by bassist Ken Woodward and Meek’s brother Dylan on piano and synths. The album is produced by Davidson and mixed by Adrian Olsen.

    “The music here is an expression of a group,” Meek added of the album. “I asked for the job because I felt strongly that we shouldn’t bring in someone from outside the band. Otherwise, the only personal desire I had was that we be able to explore space, that we let the music open up and slow down in contrast to previous records – not in terms of tempo but rather overall movement, information between the beats.”

    Haunted Mountain Cover Artwork:

    Haunted Mountain Tracklist:

    1. Mood Ring
    2. Haunted Mountain
    3. Paradise
    4. Cyclades
    5. Secret Side
    6. Didn’t Know You Then
    7. Undae Dunes
    8. Where You’re Coming From
    9. Lullabies
    10. Lagrimas
    11. The Rainbow

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading