Aluna Announces New Album, Shares New Song ‘Oh the Glamour’ With Pabllo Vittar, MNEK, and Eden Prince

    Aluna has announced her sophomore album, MYCELiUM, which will be released on July 7 via Mad Decent and Because Music. Along with the announcement, the British singer has teamed up with Pabllo Vittar, MNEK, and UK producer Eden Prince for the new single ‘Oh the Glamour’. Check it out below.

    Talking about the new track, Aluna said in a press release: “What is the allure of glamour? To me it holds most of its power in the aspirations of those living a life of struggle. Glamour can uplift the worst of days and the darkest of hearts, make tears beautiful and pain graceful. My mother always worried about my expensive taste, but for me it was the taste of survival….for who can live this miserable life without a touch of glamour?”

    “Black and LGBTQ+ people go through a lot of shit, but we often present ourselves as glamorous,” she continued. “Being glamorous is an aspiration that drags you out of bed. Aiming for normal and average is a way to send yourself into the shackles of society. Glamour can often be a method to break free, celebrate, and thrive.”

    Introducing her new album, Aluna added: “The Mycelium is the cell network seeped into the fabric of nature. I’m not talking about the bloom or the fruits. You need to lay the groundwork to see the fruit one day. I got burnt out from trying to work with powerful people who have lots of money and no actual genuine care for what I’m trying to do. I realized there was no foundation where I was standing, and we have to build our own foundation. It’s not going to be all bells and whistles; it’s going to be substance. So, I broke some barriers and started mentoring creative fans. I built a community of Black Ravers on Geneva and by joining groups on Instagram and social media. Now, the album is my community I’ve created.”

    MYCELiUM Cover Artwork: 

    MYCELiUM Tracklist: 

    1. Before The Bloom (Intro)
    2. The Way I’m Wired
    3. Underwater (with Route94)
    4. Killing Me (with TSHA)
    5. Supernova (with The Picard Brothers & Kaleena Zanders)
    6. Love and Money (Interlude)
    7. Oh The Glamour (with Pabllo Vittar & MNEK) (feat. Eden Prince)
    8. Running Blind (with Tchami & Kareen Lomax)
    9. Mine O’ Mine (with Jayda G)
    10. Sugar (with Preditah & Lauren Faith)
    11. Beggin’ (with Chris Lake)
    12. Kiss It Better (with MK)
    13. Playin Wit Ya (with Walker & Royce)
    14. Future (with Kooldrink)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading