Jonathan Wilson Announces New Album ‘Eat the Worm’, Shares Video for New Song

    Los Angeles-based singer-songwriter and producer Jonathan Wilson has announced a new solo LP. Eat the Worm, the follow-up to 2020’s Dixie Blur, is set to arrive September 8 via BMG. To mark the news, Wilson has shared the new single ‘Charlie Parker’, which follows March’s ‘Marzipan’. Check it out along with the album details below.

    “‘Charlie Parker’ is one of my favourite songs on Eat the Worm. It’s a fantastical and fictitious flight of fancy and fantasy,” Wilson said of the track in a statement. “It also touches on the ups and downs of my life over the past decade as a touring musician, and more. It’s filled with strings, horns, fuzzy guitars, tubular bells, and a few bebop elements as well, hence the name. In a way, ‘Charlie Parker’ encompasses what the new record is all about: adventure, fidelity and fun. We’ve created another amazingly trippy AI video to accompany it, and I think it captures the mood of the tune perfectly.”

    “A lot of this batch of songs is a reaction to the production stuff that I do,” Wilson added of the album. “I would be in the studio, doing long days with folks, and I’ll have some wild off-the-wall ideas and they’re like, ‘no, no, no, that sounds crazy, JW.’ So I would save them up for my album. I’m finally at place to feel totally free to take chances and resist the urge to dumb things down. It’s got to be kind of strange.”

    Eat the Worm Cover Artwork:

    Eat the Worm Tracklist:

    1. Marzipan
    2. Bonamossa
    3. Ol’ Father Time
    4. Hollywood Vape
    5. The Village Is Dead
    6. Wim Hof
    7. Lo and Behold
    8. Charlie Parker
    9. Hey Love
    10. Stud Ram (Vinyl Exclusive)
    11. B.F.F.
    12. East LA
    13. Ridin’ in a Jag

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading