Metric Announce New Album ‘Formentera II’, Release New Single

    Metric have announced Formentera II, a companion album to last year’s Formentera. It’s slated for release on October 13 via Metric Music International/Thirty Tigers. First single ‘Just the Once’ features strings composed and arranged by Drew Jureka and mixed by Stuart White. Listen to it below.

    “The only way I can describe ‘Just The Once’ is to call it regret disco,” lead singer Emily Haines said i na press release. “It’s a song for when you need to dance yourself clean. Beneath the sparkling surface, there’s a lyrical exploration of a simple word with many meanings. Once is a word that plays a game of opposites. Once can mean once-upon-a-time and refer to a moment in the past, or it can mean someday, once something happens. And as for doing something only once versus doing something once in a while, well, I think we all know how vast the difference is between the two.”

    Formentera II Cover Artwork:

    Formentera II Tracklist:

    1. Detour Up
    2. Just The Once
    3. Stone Window
    4. Days Of Oblivion
    5. Who Would You Be For Me
    6. Suckers
    7. Nothing Is Perfect
    8. Descendants
    9. Go Ahead And Cry

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading